Neuronus IBRO Neuroscience Forum

Neuronus 2013

NEURONUS 2013 IBRO & IRUN Neuroscience Forum was held on May 9-11th 2013 in the Auditorium Maximum of the Jagiellonian University, in the city centre of Krakow. It featured a very intensive 3-day program with 6 plenary lectures, 13 oral sessions and a poster session, including over 60 speakers and over 80 poster presenters. The meeting was attended by circa 400 neuroscientists affiliated in 16 countries. Moreover, it was opened with ‘Adolf Beck’s Memorial Session’, which was organized to commemorate 150th birthday anniversary of the EEG pioneer born in Krakow.

As the emphasis during NEURONUS Forums is put on the development of young scientists, this year edition of neuroscientific events was accompanied by ‘Meet Your Speaker - Scientific Career Opportunities Session’ and ‘Publish or Perish - Introduction to Academic Writing and Reviewing Session’.

In 2013, a special issue entitled 'Neuronus' has been published by Advances in Cognitive Psychology (volume 9, issue 4).


  • Adrian Owen (University of Western Ontario, Canada)
  • Peter Hagoort (Radboud University Nijmegen, the Netherlands)
  • Wolf Singer (Max-Planck Institute for Brain Research, Frankfurt am Main, Germany)
  • Robin Franklin (University of Cambridge, UK)
  • Anthony Holtmaat (University of Geneva, Switzerland)
  • Juan Lerma (Universidad Miguel Hernandez – CSIC, San Juan/Alicante, Spain)


  • Matthew Holt (KU Leuven, Belgium)
  • Rolf Verleger (University of Lübeck, Germany)
  • Inna Slutsky (Tel Aviv University, Israel)
  • Gilles Pourtois (Ghent University, Belgium)
  • Grzegorz Wilczyński (Nencki Institute of Experimental Biology, Warsaw, Poland)
  • Vincent Bonin (Neuro-Electronics Research Flanders & KU Leuven, Belgium)
  • Tineke van Rijn (Donders Centre for Cognition, Radboud University Nijmegen, the Netherlands)
  • Karolina Skibicka (University of Göteborg, Sweden)
  • Tytus Sosnowski (University of Warsaw, Poland)
  • Lora Heisler (University of Cambridge, UK)
  • Gregory Kroliczak (Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań, Poland)
  • Katarzyna Starowicz-Bubak (Institute of Pharmacology, Polish Academy of Sciences, Krakow, Poland)
  • Raffaele Cacciaglia (University of Barcelona & University Jaume I, Castellón de la Plana, Spain)


  1. For oral presentation in Cognitive Neuroscience sessions:

    Agata Woźniak-Kwaśniewska (Grenoble Institute of Neuroscience, France)
    An EEG-rTMS study of the influence of rTMS over the left DLPFC: A comparison of different stimulation protocols in healthy subjects

  2. For poster presentation in Cognitive Neuroscience sessions:

    Jeff Martin (Radboud University Nijmegen, the Netherlands)
    Alpha-Band Activity, Chronic Pain, and Attentional Networks

  3. For oral presentation in Biological Neuroscience sessions:

    Dorota Badowska (Max Planck Institute of Experimental Medicine, Göttingen & Clinics of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy, University of Göttingen, Germany)
    How to make a schizophrenic mouse?

  4. For poster presentation in Biological Neuroscience sessions:

    Magdalena Kisiel (Wroclaw Medical University, Poland)
    Pharmacological assessment of impact of α1F64 mutation on conformational transitions of GABAA receptor

  5. For Medical Case Report presentation:

    Brandon Michael Henry (Jagiellonian University Medical College, Poland)
    First Bite Syndrome: a postoperative complication of cervical vagal schwannoma excision


  • Luisa Georgiana Bâcă (Carol Davila University of Medicine and Pharmacy, Romania)





fnp Fundacja Nenckiego Poland Innovative PTPK Klaster Life Science Tygiel

Media Patronage

charaktery Avant BoostBiotech BiologHelp Juvenis Pro Medicina